Chameleon - here to...
 
Notifications
Clear all

Chameleon - here to stay - 2020 Cubase template  

  RSS

Austin [philip] Noble
(@apn)
Active Member Registered
Joined: 10 months ago
Posts: 8
27/08/2020 7:56 am  

Thanks again Pablo for Chameleon.

If by any chance any one is interested here is the current version of the Cubase shortcut Chameleon template that keeps using a DAW bearable. 

DSC 1188
chameleon

In reality the colours are more muted than this on my display so not quite as candy bright as screen grab! 

Think most people would have slightly different needs so setting up their own would be the way to go. 

All the best to you

This topic was modified 1 month ago by Austin [philip] Noble

Quote
Patrick REBULLIDA
(@patrick)
Eminent Member Registered
Joined: 11 months ago
Posts: 20
27/08/2020 8:12 am  

Hi,

great job ! ,but i m using ABLETON.

Maybe I should go back to using CUBASE. I have used it since version 1.0 on my Atari and up to SX version on my pc.

can you share it?

 


ReplyQuote
Austin [philip] Noble
(@apn)
Active Member Registered
Joined: 10 months ago
Posts: 8
27/08/2020 9:01 am  
Posted by: @patrick

Hi,

great job ! ,but i m using ABLETON.

Maybe I should go back to using CUBASE. I have used it since version 1.0 on my Atari and up to SX version on my pc.

can you share it?

 

Hi Patrick

What I might do at some point is set up a vanilla Chameleon Cubase remote with the generic remote basics attached so it can be built from there. It's not  that neat at the moment behind the scenes!  And potentially a pain and time suck for someone trying to adopt it their set up.

Perhaps I can suggest if you have the time you look at the image and see what things are useful to you and just link up a Cubase generic remote for those items. Then build from there. As it developed over time things are not in the order that would be as logical as I would like due to the way Cubase generic remote CCs are inserted into the lines. There are some obsolete lines in the generic remote although all the Chameleon buttons and sliders are all connected to CCs and transport etc. There are also various macros etc.

But If you are flying with Ableton.....maybe stick with it, Cubase can still problematic when new releases come out and I always stay a build behind.

All the best

 


ReplyQuote
Patrick REBULLIDA
(@patrick)
Eminent Member Registered
Joined: 11 months ago
Posts: 20
27/08/2020 9:17 am  

@apn

ok I understood your message.
I'm also currently making a template to trigger a Euclidean sequencer. And, I'm looking for something to trigger keyboard keys on Ableton Live.
I don't want to use any other program like autohotkey etc ... and so I wanted to look at how you made your template.


ReplyQuote
SaveTheHuman5
(@savethehuman5)
Member
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 553
27/08/2020 9:33 am  

If have a little bit of patience, the feature is coming.

Facebook: @SaveTheHuman5


ReplyQuote
Austin [philip] Noble
(@apn)
Active Member Registered
Joined: 10 months ago
Posts: 8
27/08/2020 10:26 am  
Posted by: @patrick

@apn

ok I understood your message.
I'm also currently making a template to trigger a Euclidean sequencer. And, I'm looking for something to trigger keyboard keys on Ableton Live.
I don't want to use any other program like autohotkey etc ... and so I wanted to look at how you made your template.

Euclidean sequencer.... (maxforlive?)

My template actually used to use autohotkey but not any more.

Can't seem to PM you.

 

 

 


ReplyQuote
Austin [philip] Noble
(@apn)
Active Member Registered
Joined: 10 months ago
Posts: 8
27/08/2020 10:26 am  
Posted by: @savethehuman5

If have a little bit of patience, the feature is coming.

That will be very useful. Great stuff.

 


ReplyQuote
Patrick REBULLIDA
(@patrick)
Eminent Member Registered
Joined: 11 months ago
Posts: 20
27/08/2020 10:36 am  

@apn

yes with maxforlive

Capture d’écran (6)

Do you have an example of autohotkey ?

 


ReplyQuote
Austin [philip] Noble
(@apn)
Active Member Registered
Joined: 10 months ago
Posts: 8
28/08/2020 7:05 am  
Posted by: @patrick

@apn

yes with maxforlive

Capture d’écran (6)

Do you have an example of autohotkey ?

 

A simple window focus script assigned to key commands:

DetectHiddenWindows, on
SetTitleMatchMode regex
Numpad0::Function1_Function()
!t::Function2_Function()
!y::Function3_Function()
!u::Function4_Function()
!i::Function5_Function()

Function1_Function()
{
WinMaximize Cubase Pro
WinMaximize Project
WinActivate Project
}
Function2_Function()
{
WinActivate Key Editor
}
Function3_Function()
{
WinActivate Scores
}
Function4_Function()
{
WinActivate MixConsole
}
Function5_Function()
{
WinActivate, ahk_class SteinbergWindowClass
}

return
------------------------------------------------------------------
 
And before Chameleon implemented (disable legacy touch behaviour) I had to use this to prevent mouse stealing.
 
 
#NoEnv
#NoTrayIcon
#SingleInstance force
CoordMode, Mouse, Screen
SysGet, MonCount, MonitorCount
Loop, %MonCount%
{
 SysGet, Mon, Monitor, %A_Index%
 Width := MonRight - MonLeft
 Height := MonBottom - MonTop
 if (Width = 1600) && (Height = 900)
 break
}
MouseGetPos, LX, LY
Loop{
MouseGetPos, MX, MY
KeyWait, Lbutton, L
 if ((MX >= MonLeft) && (MX <= MonRight) && (MY >= MonTop) && (MY <= MonBottom))
 && not ((LX >= MonLeft) && (LX <= MonRight) && (LY >= MonTop) && (LY <= MonBottom))
  DllCall("SetCursorPos", int, LX, int, LY)
 else
 {
  LX := MX
  LY := MY
WinActivate, Cubase Pro Project          
 }
sleep, 350
}
^Esc::
Pause
Suspend
return  
 

 


ReplyQuote
Patrick REBULLIDA
(@patrick)
Eminent Member Registered
Joined: 11 months ago
Posts: 20
28/08/2020 7:19 am  

@apn

thankyou

 

 


ReplyQuote
Patrick REBULLIDA
(@patrick)
Eminent Member Registered
Joined: 11 months ago
Posts: 20
29/08/2020 6:52 am  

 

Hello,
it is a bit complicated for me.
I am currently trying another program: midikey2key
I would like my template to redirect buttons with MIDI messages to simulate
the UP and DOWN keys on the keyboard.


ReplyQuote
Austin [philip] Noble
(@apn)
Active Member Registered
Joined: 10 months ago
Posts: 8
29/08/2020 7:36 am  
Posted by: @patrick

 

Hello,
it is a bit complicated for me.
I am currently trying another program: midikey2key
I would like my template to redirect buttons with MIDI messages to simulate
the UP and DOWN keys on the keyboard.

That's the thing  which Pablo seems to indicate will be directly implemented in Chameleon so maybe sit tight:-)

Any third party software in addition to Chameleon communication with the DAW is a workaround and will be far more elegant directly from Chameleon and will also benefit from avoiding midi port routing.

As you are already aware If you wanted 'up' 'down' as real key commands from Chameleon then you would need to assign CC sent to 'midikey2key' or maybe 'Bomes Midi' which in turn makes the translation to key presses -  which your DAWs key commands would receive (as long as it is in focus). 

Personally I have avoid this approach now and still use keyboard directly for some purposes. But If Chameleon does adopt it, it will surely have it's good uses.


ReplyQuote
Patrick REBULLIDA
(@patrick)
Eminent Member Registered
Joined: 11 months ago
Posts: 20
29/08/2020 9:21 am  

@apn

After various tests, I decided to do without additional software and wait for the next update of Chameleon.
I want to make music.
Thank you for your advice and see you very soon.


ReplyQuote